Gluten Free Diet Suggestions for Celiac Disease

  • Ask your doctor what to expect.

    Ask your doctor what to expect with Celiac Disease. Discuss how you might respond to diet changes and medications. Add the following sentence to the end: The links below may be of help as you learn more about the disease and teach your family and friends.

    National Foundation for Celiac Awareness

    Celiac Disease Foundation

  • Know your problem foods

    Know your problem foods. Wheat is not the only grain containing gluten. Beware of others such as barley, rye and triticale. Know also that wheat goes by different names: bran, bulgur, couscous, durum, farina, farro, graham, matzoh, seitan, semolina. And, wheat has close relatives associated with the same health problems: einkorn, emmer, kamut, spelt. Be sure you know about every grain you eat. This list should help, but may be incomplete.

    National Foundation for Celiac Awareness, Survival Guide

  • Beware of confusing labels.

    Beware of confusing food labels. Many foods contain wheat and gluten without stating so clearly. Watch for labels that say: bread crumbs, cereal extract, flour, high protein flour, gelatinized, flavored, modified starch, food starch, pasta, seasonings, vegetable protein or plant protein. Look for these ingredients in: alcoholic beverages, candy, processed foods, sauces. This list should help, but be sure to investigate any ingredient you are not sure about.

  • Watch for information about manufacturing processes.

    Watch for information about manufacturing practices. Some labels say “may contain wheat” or “manufactured in a plant with wheat products”. Believe the label; don’t take chances. It’s not worth the risk.

  • Understand what "gluten free" really means.

    Understand what “gluten free” really means. In August 2013 the US FDA established a rule defining “gluten free” as containing “less than 20 parts per million”. This matches the Canadian standard.

    FDA on Gluten Free

    At Dr. Lucy’s, we follow a stricter standard of 10 parts per million, and our facility and products are certified gluten free. . We buy ingredients from producers that use this definition and we test in our own facility to be sure. We do not use wheat or any other gluten containing grain in our bakery. These safeguards allow us to provide the highest quality foods made without wheat or gluten.

    Gluten Free Certification

    Lucy’s delicious cookies are made without the common food allergens --- wheat, milk, eggs, peanuts and tree nuts. We also test for trace amounts of these allergens. In addition, our oats are certified “gluten free”. All of our products are made in a dedicated facility. Our goal is to provide excellent foods that you can trust.

  • Consider storing gluten-free and gluten-containing foods separately in your home.

    Consider storing gluten-free and gluten-containing foods separately in your home. Label the gluten foods so these will be handled with extra care and concern.

  • Provide alternate foods.

    Provide tasty alternate foods at social and school or religious events. Chose items that everyone will enjoy together.

    Purchase Lucy's® online.

    Find a store near you.

  • Tell your family and friends about food items you like.

    Your family and friends will want to serve foods that every one can eat. Be prepared to let them know which foods are okay and where to get them. Grandma might start a cookie fund for you!

    Purchase Lucy's® online.

    Find a store near you.

  • Decide with your doctor if you can safely eat oats.

    GLUTEN FREE OATS

     

    People with Celiac should decide with their doctor if they can safely eat gluten free oats.   To assist consumers with making informed choices we provide detailed information on each of our packages about our use of gluten free oats.

    Current research that shows that most people with Celiac Disease (probably 99%) can tolerate limited amounts of gluten free oats.  For adults the recommendation is to limit daily intake to ½ to ¾ cups gluten free oats.  For children the recommendation is ¼ cup per day.

    Research has brought to light a possibility that about 1% of people with Celiac may be “avenin responders”, or unable to tolerate a protein in oats called “avenin”.   It is thought that this is why a small group of people with Celiac cannot tolerate even gluten free oats in their diet.  As a result, most sources recommend that patients with Celiac consult with their health care provider before deciding to include add oats to their diet.

    With these issues in mind, we take special care to provide clear information that our products contain gluten free oats, and how much is in each serving.

    Our suppliers use only gluten free seed lines, gluten free fields and gluten free equipment.  This means they carefully exclude contamination with wheat, barley and rye.  Then, they test the oats to assure that they meet accepted standards for the claim. We use only certified gluten free oats in our recipes, and we test them in our own lab to be sure.  We feel that oats give great texture and flavor to our cookies.  They also add nutritive value, including fiber.

    We take our decision on the use of oats very seriously and feel it is consistent with the National Institutes of Health Consensus Development Conference Statement on Celiac Disease.  Our decision is also consistent with Health Canada’s position on oats.  We encourage you to discuss this issue with your health care provider, and make the decision concerning oats that’s right for you.

     

    NIH Consensus Conference on Celiac Disease (see item 5)

    http://consensus.nih.gov/2004/2004CeliacDisease118html.htm

     

    Health Canada’s Position on Oats with Celiac Disease

    http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/fn-an/securit/allerg/cel-coe/oats_cd-avoine-eng.php

     

    Canadian Celiac Association’s Statement on Oats

    http://www.celiac.ca/position_on_oats.php

     

    Canadian Celiac Association’s Guidelines for Consumption of Pure and Uncontaminated Oats by Individuals with Celiac Disease

    http://www.celiac.ca/oatsguidelines2007june.php

     

     

     

    If you’re looking for more information on this topic, we like this very clear discussion.

     

     

     

     

  • Make a plan for dining out.

    If you dine out, be sure to tell the server about the ingredients you must avoid. You might ask for special food preparation pans and utensils to avoid surfaces that might contain glutens. Avoid fried foods that share cooking oils with breaded items. This is not a time to be timid; if you feel unsure about the situation talk with the restaurant manager or pick a different restaurant.

  • Buy a good book on celiac disease.

    Buy a good book on celiac disease. This will save time, money and effort in the long run. Read it and share with others.

    Some examples are:
    Celiac Disease: A Hidden Epidemic
    Living Gluten-Free For Dummies

  • Consider joining a Celiac group.

    Consider joining a group that provides information, advocacy, support. You are certain to learn something important.

    Celiac Disease Foundation
    Gluten Intolerance Group®
    Celiac Sprue Association

    Other sites of interest:
    National Foundation for Celiac Awareness
    Celiac Disease and Gluten Free Diet Information

  • Keep a list of questions for your doctor.

    Keep a list of questions for your doctor. This helps you cover more issues at each visit.